Board Members


Alberta Union of Nurse Practitioner Board Members


Executive Director

David Froelich
[email protected]

David Froelich was Secretary Treasurer and CEO of a large International Union Local, (Alberta based) and oversaw its day-to-day operation. His 33-year career underpins a wealth of experience in Union organizing/certification, contract negotiations and union administration, rights and interest arbitration for public and private sector. David served as Chairperson of the Board of Trustees for their Pension Plan from 2007-2018 (Alberta), and Canadian National Master Trust Board Member, and Investment Subcommittee member. David holds a B.Sc. (magna cum laude) Recreation Administration and Sports Medicine, Letourneau University, TX, USA.Most recently, David was a Labor Relations Officer with the Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada (PIPSC). David joined the staff of the AUNP in 2023, after the ratification of Canada’s first NP-only collective agreement



Rosa Reyes
[email protected]

Rosa has been practicing as an NP for close to 18 years. Currently she works with the Acute and Transitional Pain Service at the South Health Campus in Calgary. Rosa has experience on the Board of the NPAA and feels that she would bring fairness, respect, and strength in promoting the AUNP agenda within AHS and COV.



Rebecca Morrison
[email protected]

Rebecca has been an NP since 2010 in primary and acute care practice. She has experience on various committees at the regulatory and provincial levels. Recently, Rebecca has been President of the Canadian Beach Volleyball Association non-profit, partnering with the City of Calgary, Calgary Tourism, and the Indigenous Olympics.


Vice President

Lesley Lapierre
[email protected]

Lesley LaPierre is a nurse practitioner in adult critical care at the Royal Alexandra Hospital in Edmonton, AB.  She began her nursing career in neurosciences and critical care in 1997 and has had extensive experience in acute care including clinical and administrative roles. Her passion for clinical care and evolving nurse practitioner-based models of care inspired her to pursue a Masters of Nursing, Nurse Practitioner program at the University of Alberta. She graduated and started practice in 2009, initially in nephrology and internal medicine and returning to critical care in 2011.  She acts as a clinical associate with the Faculty of Nursing at the University of Alberta and frequently presents at Canadian critical care conferences.  Pursuits outside of her professional role include exploring Alberta and canoeing her way through Alberta’s waterbodies. 



Anne Dmytryshyn
[email protected]

Anne completed her Post-MN pediatric NP program in 2016 and has worked since then at the Stollery Children’s Hospital. She currently supports inpatient neurocritical care and has an outpatient clinic for management of pediatric migraine and dysautonomia. Anne was the chair of the Pediatric NP Community of Practice and the Stollery NP student placement facilitator. She has experience on multiple clinical practice improvement committees. Throughout Anne’s career she has held multiple leadership roles, is highly organized, and efficient, and takes a lifelong learning approach to her practice. She feels strongly committed to building the community of NPs alongside AUNP.


Brad Young.
[email protected]

Brad transitioned into the NP role in 2015 and has worked at the Mazankowski Heart Institute since that time. He has represented the CVICU on the Connect Care build, sat on the MHI Education Committee and has been on the AUNP Finance Committee for the fall of 2023. Though Brad acknowledges he has not served in a treasurer role previously, his expertise working with multiple individuals, searching out needed expertise and promoting transparency will ensure engagement of all NPs with the finances of AUNP. Brad has been a passionate advocate of organized labour and sees volunteering in this role as a way of giving back, supporting the profession, and gaining a deeper understanding of the working of AUNP.


District Representative Edmonton Zone

Kristie Dirks.
[email protected]

Kristie is an NP within Trauma and Critical Care. She has worked for the past 5 years at the Royal Alexandra and Sturgeon Community Hospitals. Kristie has additionally taken an additional geriatric position in the North Zone, collaborating with complex and palliative care and the MAID program. Kristie is highly efficient, organized, direct and fair in her communications and is an innovative and engaging leader and advocate for the NP profession. She is quite interested in the upcoming bargaining cycle and hopes to take a leadership role in this.


District Representative Calgary Zone

Mathew Wenger.
[email protected]

Mat graduated in May 2021 as an Adult NP and has been working in Internal Medicine at South Health Campus and the ICU at Foothills Medical Centre. Mat has strong collaboration skills, is attentive to detail and is responsive to the questions of others. He has served as the co-chair of the Department of Critical; Care Medicine Calgary Zone NP committee recently and works with zonal NPs to identify common ground and plan for shared issues. 


District Representative South Region

Sarah Duncan
[email protected]


District Representative Central Region

Kimberly Thompson

Kim has practiced as a Primary Care NP in Vermilion for 14 years. Kim has extensive Board experience having sat on NPAA, NPAC and various Community Boards.  She currently sits on Vermilion and District Housing Board, Kalyna County PCN, as Lead, and AUNP. She looks forward to helping develop this young organization.

[email protected]


District Representative Northern Zone

Michael Wilson.
[email protected]

Michael has been working over 20 years as an NP in the AHS North Zone. In the past 5 years he has had experience in quality improvement work and also worked as an NP with the North Zone Palliative Care Team. Michael participated as a member of the 2022-2023 AUNP Bargaining Committee, assisting to bargain our initial CBA, and is currently a volunteer on the AUNP Governance Committee. He is willing and able to support the NPs in Alberta’s North Zone.